So the time has officially come to start looking for classes that I'm going to take come Winter semester. Wow that brings me to a whole other tangent...I'll have to discuss the Winter semester later. ANYway. Back to the story. Paragraph. Entry. What have you. I need to sign up for classes. Now, for my freshman year this was a very unstressful occasion. I was going on a mission the next year, I hadn't decided what I wanted to do with my life, yadda yadda. I'll just take my generals and see where it goes. So second semester of that year comes, I decide I really like psychology, I take a couple more classes but that's that. Just take more generals.
Well now I'm at the point where decisions matter haha. I remember before I left on my mission my friend Megan was freaking out about the stress involved with registering for classes. I'm glad I wasn't talking to her face to face because I honestly laughed when I heard that. It was so simple to me. Just don't worry about it, things will end up alright in the end. Do what you feel like you should do. That's been my motto for life and why should it change? If things aren't supposed to work out they won't, but I bet they will. Such were my thoughts.
I look at that now and shake my head. I'm stressed. I need to choose these classes, and these classes are going to play a big part in my future. I need to take the right ones otherwise I'll need to spend more time and money. Now, I'm not overly stressed. But it's not a relaxing sit in this chair browsing a couple hundred classes anymore either. I've looked around, looked at the maps I need to graduate with the major I want, all that fun stuff. And yeah. It's a little more difficult this time around. Here's what I'm tossing around so far:
Classes for my major:
Psych 301-Psychological Statistics
Psych 302-Research, Design, and Analysis
But maybe I'll throw in Psych 220-Human Development/Life span
My major is psychology. If you hadn't figured that out, jump in a lake. Preferrably Erie, it's really gross. The classes now are pretty boring but once I finally get into the 400s there are some really cool classes I want to take. Psych 111 is the only one I've enjoyed so far...210 was absolute death. Luckily I escaped with a C+.
GE's:
I'm tossing around a bunch of them. I did a lot my freshman year, but I still have about half to take. Of course some of the classes I will invariably take will knock out a couple of these requirements. But here's a couple I'm looking at:
Eng 312-Persuasive Writing
Phil 300-Philisophical Writing
MFG 201/202-History of Creativity (I'm not really sure what MFG stands for...and 202 sounds more interesting. It's Rennaisance to the present.)
Eng 201/202-Masterpieces of World Lit
And Religion gets its own little section:
Rel C 324/325-Doctrine and Covenants
Rel C 234-LDS Marriage and Family
Vic threw out Rel A 327-Pearl of Great Price which sounds really cool
And my friend/future housemate's uncle is teaching a class on the reformation which looks awesome.
Classes I want to take but don't need to:
Eng 218R-Creative Writing
And some class that I've heard about that gives free access to BYU's recording studio. Fame here I come.
Anyway those are the things I'm playing with in my head. Advice is welcome, but obviously in the end it will probably just be "hey that sounds good" if nothing really sticks out. Anyway. I realized that while life moves on and we get older it gets a whole lot more stressful. That's a long story to make that point. But it needed to be made.
All this makes me realize that I don't want to grow up. Maybe Neverland has a spot for me.
Kris Roe said it right: Being grown up isn't half as fun as growing up. These are the best years of our lives.
Naming a Human Being is Hard.
11 years ago

2 comments:
I'm taking D & C right now and I realize it's a different school, but I love it. I'm taking it the same time at Church History and it's a wonderful match. Marriage and Family sounds good too (I have that next semester).
Other than that, I really can't help. Sorry. Good Luck!
k. so you have to take psych stats. that i know. and it way sucks. unless you like stats. but you CAN take it from flom (that's who i have it with). umm. take gender with us (it will fill something, if not part of a capstone (if you choose that class) then it takes care of one of the psych electives you ahve to do. and it'll be fun with all of us. i didn't look at the rest of the classes because i hate everything in my life right now and reading more stuff about psych just makes me want to break down. in the quiet part of the library
Post a Comment