Friday, October 31, 2008

Jameson 101

I usually dislike these dealys. But I'm bored today. I have time. And there's not much else to do other than watch House of Wax. Um...yeah I'll take this. Don't expect a lot of these don't worry.

1. I'm 21 years old
2. I wish I was about two inches shorter
3. I've moved all over the place. Sammamish, WA is my current home.
4. I wish I wouldn't have to move to Utah to go to school
5. Sometimes I get antisocial and a lot of the time I'd rather be alone than with people
6. The only thing is, I need to have friends to hang out with around. I need that option because I can't be alone too much.
7. I get distracted incredibly easily.
8. I think too much
9. I have a hard time getting bored. I don't even have to be entertained...in all honesty sitting on a couch sometimes is just fine with me.
10. My sister is one of my best friends.
11. I would rather be barefoot most of the time but unfortunately my feet get cold easily.
12. I hate wearing just socks. If I have socks on I strongly prefer shoes as well.
13. Music is one of my biggest loves and inspirations. I love all sorts of music from pop to rap but punk rock is my favorite.
14. I can get pretty moody sometimes.
15. I hate people knowing how I feel most of the time. I'd prefer to hide it.
16. I feel responsible to cheer people up
17. I absolutely love playing guitar.
18. I lack confidence in my appearance and abilities in general.
19. I like stupid movies
20. I love my hair and like to take good care of it. Sometimes I wish it was longer.
21. I've recently started to love wearing hats and beanies.
22. I'm most comfortable when I'm in jeans and a tshirt.
23. One of my dreams is to be in a rock band haha
24. I hate the cold. Absolutely hate it.
25. Sunny and 75 is absolutely perfect.
26. I love the lake but I'm not the biggest fan of swimming. I love just going down and hanging out on the dock in the sun.
27. Wakeboarding is friggin amazing.
28. I used to skateboard but stopped when I almost broke my leg. At least it felt like it. Bad crash. I still think it's the coolest thing ever.
29. I'm really lazy
30. I like having things neat and clean, but not too neat. Unfortunately, like I said, I'm lazy.
31. I generally don't care about football at all.
32. I'm a social sports watcher. I will never turn on a game when I'm hanging out by myself, and I'll never go to a game alone. But if I'm with people who love sports or whatever and turn it on, I'll enjoy watching it just because I'm with them.
33. I love candy. I eat it all the time.
34. Same as above but with chips.
35. I hate anything that has to do with needles. I even hate watching it on tv.
36. Lots of blood makes me nauseated.
37. I have only had 2 girlfriends.
38. I'm super nervous to meet the family.
39. I like cooking and wish that I knew how to cook more meals
40. Photography is amazing. I also wish I was better at this
41. I'm boring. I'm struggling to come up with 101 things about me haha.
42. I can stay up late and wake up early. I'm not sure if I'm a morning or night person.
43. I think eating out is one of the greatest things you can do to have a great conversation
44. I love going to concerts. I would be at one every weekend if I had the money.
45. I get the feeling that I forget things a lot
46. I wish I had a stronger chin. But what can you do?
47. I had jaw surgery after 8th grade and still haven't regained all of the feeling between my chin and lower lip. Luckily my lip is fine and I can feel every kiss.
48. I'm afraid that I'm a terrible kisser but there's really no way to know.
49. I've only kissed two girls. I'm embarrassed and proud of that fact at the same time.
50. I really don't want to live in Utah when I'm raising a family. But I might.
51. I rarely get sick and really want it to stay like that.
52. I'm a terrible dancer. I don't like it at all either. But I wish I could dance at the same time.
53. I write lyrics and poems all the time but think that they all suck.
54. I hate packing and travelling and all but I like being on vacation. It's good to see other things and places.
55. I hate looking like I don't know what I'm doing. So even if I don't, odds are I'm faking it so I'll look like I do.
56. I'm afraid of being a father. I'm nervous I'll screw up my kids.
57. The gospel of Jesus Christ is the most important thing in my life.
58. I'm going to either get married in the temple or not at all.
59. I like shopping if it's for certain things. Clothes? Depends on my mood. I love shopping for CDs. I will literally spend hours if I can.
60. I'm not photogenic.
61. Dr. Pepper is the best soda in the world. Or Wild Cherry Pepsi.
62. I like chick flicks
63. I really enjoy watching music videos. Fuse is a great channel when it's playing good music.
64. Ever since I left on my mission I've kind of disliked new bands. Every band I listen to was formed before I left. I just can't get into the new stuff for some reason. Even if it's in a genre I really like. They all seem like they're 15 years old.
65. My favorite sports are ones without teams.
66. I don't have a favorite number or color.
67. I look best in browns, blacks, and blues. And whites. I'm not a fan of wearing bright jewel colors (though I do have one red shirt).
68. I'm really interested in being a young adult counselor.
69. I don't know much about cars.
70. I love my dad. And I love how he can fix almost anything. This guy is a genius with tools. What a role model.
71. I've realized more as I've grown up that my parents are actually people, and I like the new relationship we've had since I've been back.
72. I'm still a momma's boy
73. I live in the here and now. What does that mean? Well, it means I usually just focus on what's going on. Because of that I have a really hard time missing people. It's not that I don't love them. It's a weird feeling and makes me feel bad sometimes.
74. Contrary to what I just said, I miss someone right now.
75. Because of the same reason above, I have a hard time worrying about things.
76. I consider myself a laid back person.
77. I dislike when people complain for serious. I mean, complaining isn't going to change things so why bother. On this same topic, I complain the most out of anyone I know but it's all in good spirits. It doesn't make sense on paper, but it really does work.
78. The reason I feel insecure is that I don't feel original at all. I feel that I'm just your average guy and there are too many people out there who are above average that I shouldn't be worth considering.
79. I have online friends I've never met in person.
80. I'm a closet nerd. I know a lot about Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Halo, and a slew of other fairly nerdy things. Nobody knows unless they're a good friend.
81. I've never broken a bone. But I've had surgery twice.
82. I work hard on not being jealous. Those people drive me a little nuts.
83. I have the need to be needed. I'd rather be hated than ignored by people I care about.
84. I really enjoy reading classic novels. Or not even novels. But books like The Great Gatsby, Tuesday's With Morrie, The Count of Monte Cristo, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Lovely Bones, whatever. I love those books.
85. The Office and Scrubs are my favorite TV shows.
86. I don't hate things that are popular, but I do love having a couple back pocket bands, movies, etc.
87. I usually don't think before I speak. This gets me in trouble a lot.
88. I have a hard time expressing myself sometimes in words. Written down things make more sense.
89. I have a hard time yelling.
90. I'm indicisive. And I believe it's an acquired trait. I've come to realize that a lot of people care about a lot of things, and a lot of things really don't matter to me. So I usually just step back and let those other people decide. So I've gotten used to not making decisions and so when I need to it's very hard for me. I don't like making decisions that affect more than just me.
91. At one time I promised myself I wouldn't marry a girl who had gone on a mission. That was dumb.
92. I love to watch people. They're super interesting.
93. I do things on impulse.
94. I love awkward situations.
95. I love the Christmas season. It's the best. I just love the feeling. Despite the cold.
96. I hate revealing my weaknesses to people.
97. One of my biggest pet peeves is disrespect. I hate it when people are too self centered to show a little respect to others.
98. I don't think I've ever liked a girl who's taller than 5'4" ish.
99. I've never cried watching a movie. Everybody tells me I will when I watch Charly. I don't believe them. I don't have any plans to watch the movie to prove them wrong though.
100. I don't like the feeling of being scared.
101. Going on a mission was probably the best decision I've made.

Thursday, October 30, 2008

The best part of waking up

I had one of the worst yet best TV experiences ever this morning.

So we have this running exercise machine in our house. I'm not sure what it's called. An elliptical? I don't know. But it's a machine where you run, and exercise...and all that fun stuff. Anyway. The point is we have one. And ever since a couple of weeks ago, I decided I want to use it. So in the mornings I don't work I come down to run. You know, to lose weight. Eventually look good for my girlfriend. All that jazz. And there's a tv in the exercise room. So I come down this morning and check my tivo stuff to see if there's anything I want to watch. Now I've seen most of the shows and I've watched Orange County three times in the past two weeks or so so I don't want to watch that. So I just flip on the normal TV and am browsing through and see a movie on the SciFi channel. From Dusk til Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money. It's got about an hour left. I decide to check it out.

Now, you know those grade B horror movies? This tops them all. I cannot accurately describe the scene that happened this morning. I turn it on and start running. Now the premise of the movie is that these guys are going to Mexico to rob a bank and stop at a bar that turns out to be full of undead monsters. Well I turn it on and I'm at this part where they're at the bank now. After a couple of minutes I find that a couple of the guys are now vampires. Well things happen, cops come and surround the bank. Eventually all of the guys are vampires but one. The cops finally throw some tear gas inside, the guy escapes out and gets arrested. All the SWAT team (or whatever it's called in Mexico) rush in with guns and get eaten. Suddenly! The sun rises! And right when the sun rises it's suddenly bright enough and the sun is high enough to be 11 AM, not six or whatever it is. So the vampires start screaming and all and then! Suddenly! A complete solar eclipse! The sun is completely covered in a matter of five seconds. It's now dark as night again somehow. The rest of the cops start freaking out and the vampires come out with guns and start mowing them down.

I'm not sure why, but the vampires were shooting the cops instead of biting them to make more vampires. Except for this one girl they bite who, predictably, conveniently shows up about fifteen minutes later to ruin the police's carefully laid plan and then quickly die. Well back to the story they're shooting and the police are dying and finally it's the bank robber who escaped and two other people. They figure out that the vampires are afraid of crosses and put together a plan (that aforementioned girl vampire ruins) involving crosses and stakes. Well long story short one cop dies, they impale the rest through sheer luck and random superhuman feats of strength (one involved a guy kicking a vampire off of him with enough force to push him back onto a car to be impaled on a mounted bull's horn). Well it comes down to one vampire and the old robber (the cop is somewhere else...I'm not sure where). Now the vampire's pissed because the robber gave them away. So he's kicking him around, throwing his face into poles and generally beating him up but not hard enough for the guy to have any scratches or broken bones. Suddenly! Conveniently the sun comes out again. Keep in mind this complete solar eclipse has lasted about twenty minutes, all the while it being pitch black outside. Then the sun comes out in another matter of five seconds or so and the last vampire gets burned up. The robber and cop talk, laugh, share a cigarette, and then hear more sirens coming. Well the robber decides to get out of there and the cop lets him go.

Moral of the story: it doesn't matter how many minor characters die, you can still laugh at the end as long as you're alive. You'll have no permanant psychological damage from seeing vampires eat people.

Wow. I think it was the dumbest movie ever. Like, honestly. I wasn't laughing, but I was definitely amused. And it was supposed to be a scary horror movie. You know those shows where you have to watch it because it's just so stupid? Yup this was one of them. I honestly give it zero stars. If you're looking for a good laugh, go ahead and turn it on. I think it's probably originally rated r, but you could tell this was edited because a guy said butt and I laughed.

Anyway. More great TV. While I was watching this show, a commercial comes on. This is what it said.
You want to keep warm when you’re feeling chill. But you don’t want to raise the heating bill. Blankets are okay, but they can slip and slide, and when you have to reach for something your hands are trapped inside. Now, get a Snuggie! The blanket that has sleeves! The Snuggie allows you to keep totally warm and free your hands. Now you can work the remote, read a book, eat a snack, or use your laptop all while staying snuggly warm!
It shows people out camping in these 100% soft fleece Snuggies, walking around the house, whatever. And I think, wait…isn’t that what sweaters are for? I was honestly laughing out loud at this commercial. It doesn't sound funny when I read it, but watching it was definitely a highlight.

And then it turns out they're coming out with this reality show on SciFi where people apply and they choose ten of them. They're supposed to run and get this money. Or maybe they have money and they're supposed to escape. I'm not sure. Anyway. They run. And there are these people called Hunters who chase them. Maybe they're called Chasers. I don't know. But they're supposed to run away from these guys. How sweet would that be? It would be like you're in a movie. I want to join.

Well now that I've bored you. All this seemed amazing this morning. Reading it all seems stupid. I guess you would have had to be there.

Oh and listen to this. It's one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite bands.

Monday, October 27, 2008

First Day Of My Life

This is the first day of my life
I swear I was born right in the doorway
I went out in the rain suddenly everything changed
They're spreading blankets on the beach

Yours is the first face that I saw
I think I was blind before I met you
Now I don’t know where I am
I don’t know where I’ve been
But I know where I want to go

And so I thought I’d let you know
That these things take forever
I especially am slow
But I realize that I need you
And I wondered if I could come home

Remember the time you drove all night
Just to meet me in the morning
And I thought it was strange you said evertything changed
You felt as if you had just woke up
And you said “this is the first day of my life
I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you
But now I don’t care I could go anywhere with you
And I’d probably be happy”

So if you want to be with me
With these things there’s no telling
We just have to wait and see
But I’d rather be working for a paycheck
Then waiting to win the lottery
Besides maybe this time is different
I mean I really think you like me
-Conor Oberst

Friday, October 24, 2008

Nostalgia

So, getting back from my mission, I had the job of going through all of my stuff I had left behind and deciding whether or not I wanted to keep it. It took a while but I finished...almost. I've had one box left that I've been putting off going through. I was tired of it and I knew that most of it was trash anyway. A bunch of CD jewel cases that I'm not sure why I kept. But finally I had some time today. Well I've had time a lot of days but today I got bored enough to actually go and do it. So I go upstairs and sit on my bed and put on one of my favorite CDs of late: The Elected - Sun Sun Sun. For those of you who care or want to know, that's a great band. The singer and drummer are from the band Rilo Kiley (not Jenny Lewis the girl singer, but Blake Sennet). But anyway. Random sidenote. So I'm listening to that CD which just might be one of the greatest to give you a nice feeling of nostalgia in the first place. This wasn't my intention. I just wanted to get rid of the box. So I'm looking through not really caring, throwing out old magazines and CD cases when I get to this box. The box is full of pictures and letters and old random memorabilia of when I was in Junior High. And before that as well. Suddenly this box got a whole lot more interesting. Now I'm not usually one to sit and wish that I hadn't gotten older (despite the post a couple days ago that pretty much said just that...) but I got to thinking just how good life was back then. Back when my dad going on a business trip for a week or two was depressing. When I didn't have any responsibilities. Back when the only thing I cared about was fireworks and my dog.

Now I'm into guitars and girls.

Meh, let sleeping dogs lie. I'm going to go call Vic. It's her birthday you know.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Gather round little children

So I'm a story guy. Not in the sense that I tell stories. But because I thoroughly enjoy them. Reading, hearing, whatever. I am naturally attracted (not in the romantic sense) to people who have good stories to share and can tell them well. I really like reading. I love movies. I love listening to people tell stories as long as it's something I'll be interested in. I love music that tells stories (read: Coheed and Cambria). Maybe it's because I view my life as typical and boring. I'm not sure. But I'm a story guy.

So that's why I like video games in a sense. It lets me get out of myself for a little bit and be somewhere else. A lot of people knock them because they're dumbing down america or ruining kids or whatever the heck they're saying now, but I've learned a lot from them. That's sad when you think about it. But true. And good storylines are essential to a quality game in my opinion. Most of the time. Obviously Rock Band can't have a classic story. But there are great games with great stories. It's one of the reasons I like Halo much more than I'll ever like James Bond. Play Goldeneye or whatever and the missions are as follows: bad guys A and B have taken over base Q. Infiltrate Q, plant X amount of items and get out. Yeah it's a good formula for a cool movie. But there's no real story there. You're following around a guy that's going to destroy America or the earth for whatever reason. But Halo? That game has a storyline that starts before you even see the opening cutscene (you're just thrust into the middle of a storyline), lasts 3 games and still isn't over. The storyline is book material. I know because they've made four of them. And they're good.

Now another game with a great storyline is Resident Evil. I started Resident Evil Zero, which I've never played, this morning. These games are sweet. Honestly I would recommend it just to have your mind blown by the story. And to get the crap scared out of you. This one's not as scary but it's still an eerie feeling. But this brings up another point. Why are people so stupid in horror games/movies? Honestly. Let's start with the beginning of the original Resident Evil. You're Jill Valentine (or some other guy I can't remember depending if you play on Hard) and you're in this unit called STARS (Special Tactics And Rescue Service). The Bravo team had gone to investigate something or other and the helicopter had crashed (that's the storyline of Zero). Alpha team (your unit) goes out to see what's up. Well you're in the forest near this mansion and you find the helicopter and the pilots had been eaten by something. So you have your group (including the heavy weapons guy that's always there with the irrational gun that's way too big for what you typically should be needing to do) and you get attacked by these crazy zombie guys and undead dogs. Well out of your whole group only three or four survive by escaping into the mansion; the rest have become a dead guy's dinner. And of course, right when you all get inside, the leader turns to everyone and says, "let's split up." And everyone thinks it's the greatest idea since napster and runs off alone. Hello? If I were there I wouldn't agree to that. I'd be more like, "HELLO?! Are you #@%$ing retarded? Did you see those things out there? No way!" (yeah I'd say the f word if I was almost eaten by zombies). Anyway. I think it would be a much better idea if everyone just stuck together and solved the problem together. I guess training would fix me straight though.

That was a lot funnier in my head. It sounds really stupid all typed out like that.

Oh well I guess. Anyway, rule of thumb, if appliances in your house start operating on their own, move out immediately.

And then tell me the story.

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Montage pt. 1

So I have a few little thoughts running around in my head that aren't worth making a whole blog post for each one. So this one is just going to be a mashup of all the thoughts. I'll probably do this much more than once. But here y'all go.

-So winter semester at college. Now some people stare at me blankly when I say that. Most colleges don't have a winter semester. Well they do. But it's the "spring" semester. And the people I've talked to think that BYU is weird when we call it winter. Wait. Doesn't that just make a whole lot more sense? Out of the four months you're in the semester, almost three are in the winter. So why would you call it spring? Whatever though. To each his own.
-Post offices need to explode. Same with the DMV. Mostly the DMV. Or DOL. Or whatever it's called in the state you're in. For us it's the DOL. The place where you get your license. The place is a black hole of happiness. Have you ever seen a cheery person in there? That's why nobody smiles for their license picture. They've been stuck in a room sans happiness for a couple hourse. If dementors were real that's where they would be. But yeah. Post offices. Nobody there is happy either. I had to go there yesterday and again today to try to mail this package to Vic. Now that line needs to die. Who's mailing things at 2 pm on a Tuesday and Wednesday? Weirdos.
-Have you ever listened to the words to that song Love Potion #9? The song's about about a dude who can't get a girlfriend so he goes to some creepy old lady's house who checks out his hand and makes this potion in her kitchen sink. She gives him the goods and he starts making out with everything and everyone. I think the "little bottle of love potion #9" was a shot of bacardi spiked with a couple hits of ecstasy. That woman should not be practicing medicine. Or whatever she does.
-I was bored yesterday so I painted the fingernails on my left hand black. Now that was a lot harder than I thought. I figured you just move this brush loaded with paint on your nail and it turns that color. Well that's the basics. It's incredibly difficult to get an even lair over that sucker. My nails look really rough and DIY but I think that, coupled with the fact that it's only on my left hand, adds to the allure.
-I've been catching up on Red vs. Blue. Now that is about the most hilarious thing in the world. But I don't recommend it for everyone. It's pretty much one of the nerdiest things in the world. But it's so good.
-I've pretty much officially run out of minutes. I need to stop making phone calls. "Stop being so dramatic" I can hear some of you think. But it's the truth. I actually need to wait until our night minutes start to listen to my messages. And for some reason our nights don't start until 11 pm. So yeah...lame.

Well I had a ton to say and for some reason I can't think of anything else. Weird. But it's not like I'm going to run out of space on here. I'll just post them later. Ah, modern technology. Anyway. Hope you're all doing great!

CDs I've listened to within the past two or three days: Acceptance, Aqualung, Coheed and Cambria, Eve 6, The Matches, Relient K, Motion City Soundtrack, Thrice, My Chemical Romance

You need to listen to: Eve 6 - Showerhead

Monday, October 20, 2008

Decisions pt. 2

So I've been on the hunt for a deodorant I really like for a while. Whoo I've thrilled you all already. haha. But I used to use some Old Spice stuff a long time ago but switched to Axe once they got some cool flavors. But I was getting kind of tired of it on my mission so I bought Right Guard or whatever it's called. But that was the gel kind. Like it's got all the holes and it's a straight up gel. Anyway I'm still using that now and it's not so bad. I like it. But I need something that will help me, you know, not sweat. Do what it's supposed to do. And I don't think the gel really helps with that at all. So today I got called into Target to work at 9 and got off at 6 and decided to look. So I head on over. I'm looking. Now I'm terrible at this game. I can't just up and decide on a deodorant. I'll be sticking with that decision for like three months or whatever. So I'm looking around and I see the other Right Guard. Or is it Rite Guard? I dunno. But the one with the power stripe.

Now I think I've got it. I remember those commercials. With Bam Margera. Those little girls beat up those football players or whatever. I think I might have a winner. If it's good enough for Bam Friggin Margera, it's good enough for me.

On a whim I pick up some new kind of Old Spice I had never heard of and smelled it. Wow.

Screw Bam. You lose.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

I'm a Toys-R-Us kid

So the time has officially come to start looking for classes that I'm going to take come Winter semester. Wow that brings me to a whole other tangent...I'll have to discuss the Winter semester later. ANYway. Back to the story. Paragraph. Entry. What have you. I need to sign up for classes. Now, for my freshman year this was a very unstressful occasion. I was going on a mission the next year, I hadn't decided what I wanted to do with my life, yadda yadda. I'll just take my generals and see where it goes. So second semester of that year comes, I decide I really like psychology, I take a couple more classes but that's that. Just take more generals.

Well now I'm at the point where decisions matter haha. I remember before I left on my mission my friend Megan was freaking out about the stress involved with registering for classes. I'm glad I wasn't talking to her face to face because I honestly laughed when I heard that. It was so simple to me. Just don't worry about it, things will end up alright in the end. Do what you feel like you should do. That's been my motto for life and why should it change? If things aren't supposed to work out they won't, but I bet they will. Such were my thoughts.

I look at that now and shake my head. I'm stressed. I need to choose these classes, and these classes are going to play a big part in my future. I need to take the right ones otherwise I'll need to spend more time and money. Now, I'm not overly stressed. But it's not a relaxing sit in this chair browsing a couple hundred classes anymore either. I've looked around, looked at the maps I need to graduate with the major I want, all that fun stuff. And yeah. It's a little more difficult this time around. Here's what I'm tossing around so far:

Classes for my major:
Psych 301-Psychological Statistics
Psych 302-Research, Design, and Analysis
But maybe I'll throw in Psych 220-Human Development/Life span
My major is psychology. If you hadn't figured that out, jump in a lake. Preferrably Erie, it's really gross. The classes now are pretty boring but once I finally get into the 400s there are some really cool classes I want to take. Psych 111 is the only one I've enjoyed so far...210 was absolute death. Luckily I escaped with a C+.

GE's:
I'm tossing around a bunch of them. I did a lot my freshman year, but I still have about half to take. Of course some of the classes I will invariably take will knock out a couple of these requirements. But here's a couple I'm looking at:
Eng 312-Persuasive Writing
Phil 300-Philisophical Writing
MFG 201/202-History of Creativity (I'm not really sure what MFG stands for...and 202 sounds more interesting. It's Rennaisance to the present.)
Eng 201/202-Masterpieces of World Lit

And Religion gets its own little section:
Rel C 324/325-Doctrine and Covenants
Rel C 234-LDS Marriage and Family
Vic threw out Rel A 327-Pearl of Great Price which sounds really cool
And my friend/future housemate's uncle is teaching a class on the reformation which looks awesome.

Classes I want to take but don't need to:
Eng 218R-Creative Writing
And some class that I've heard about that gives free access to BYU's recording studio. Fame here I come.

Anyway those are the things I'm playing with in my head. Advice is welcome, but obviously in the end it will probably just be "hey that sounds good" if nothing really sticks out. Anyway. I realized that while life moves on and we get older it gets a whole lot more stressful. That's a long story to make that point. But it needed to be made.

All this makes me realize that I don't want to grow up. Maybe Neverland has a spot for me.

Kris Roe said it right: Being grown up isn't half as fun as growing up. These are the best years of our lives.

Saturday, October 18, 2008

It's happened

So I was just going to post my exciting news but then I realized that nobody would know what I'm talking about so I have to give some background information. So there's something called the 100 Hour Board. It's run by a bunch of students at BYU (not under BYU jurisdiction though) and it's kind of a forum. Ask any question and get an answer in 100 hours. I've been reading it since I was a freshman and there are some great answers...some hilarious some informative. Well I used to have an account to ask questions, got a lot of dumb ones answered. But I asked what I thought was a fairly creative question and hoped for a good answer.

The answer wasn't as funny as I had hoped. But not bad.

The board isn't as funny as it used to be. But hey. I still like it.

Wish you were here.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

sigh

Ever have that time in your life when everything blows up in your face no matter how hard you try and how good your intentions are?

That's my life right now. sigh.

Monday, October 13, 2008

I'd like to thank you all...

There are certain things that you just don't say when you give a talk in church. Coincidentally, these are also the things that almost everybody says. It makes you look tacky. Here's a list that isn't all inclusive. But still.

"I'd like to thank the presidency for giving me the opportunity to speak."
"I've been asked to speak today on ____" (come on, we're going to find out in 30 seconds anyway)
"Wow, this ward looks a whole lot bigger on this side of the podium."
"When I saw Brother (insert second counselor's name here) on the caller ID I didn't even want to pick up the phone!" (followed by laughs every time)
"I'm a terrible public speaker, so please bear with me."

And then there's the things that RMs shouldn't say:
"Wow, it's amazing how two years can turn little girls into beautiful young women."
"I see a lot of familiar faces out here! Some not very familiar, but a lot of familiar faces!"
"So I just served a mission!"

And so it goes. I'm not saying that I'm expecting everyone to be refined public speakers when they give their talk. But there is a point.

This was going to be a whole lot more humorous. I guess that's what I get for waiting to write this until 7 AM. Oh well.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Tchaikovsky's got the news

Let there be light.
Sound.
Drums.
Guitar.

Let there be rock.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

A time to speak

Well I'm supposed to be writing a talk right now. I was asked two weeks ago to assist a high councilman and speak this Sunday. Unfortunately, my memory being the way it is, I forgot until this morning. The topic? Faith. I have to give an 8-10 minute talk and I'm about 2/3 of the way done. My problem is how easily I get distracted. I have other work I need to get done along with the talk and I'm headed out to buy some shirts for work this afternoon and what do I inevitably end up doing? Getting on the internet and looking for things to waste my time. I wish my attention span was a little better. Oh well. Preparing talks isn't a challenge for me anymore, maybe that's why I don't stress out about it too much. I wish I did sometimes. Maybe I would actually get it done earlier than the Saturday before.

Earlier doesn't look like it's spelled right. hm.

I just wasted 1 minute and 57 seconds of your life.

Friday, October 10, 2008

In the beginning...

So I guess I should probably write something here. I have an old blog I never go to anymore full of stuff from before my mission. But I kind of wanted a fresh start. So I created this blog. Now, I thought at the time that I needed a really good first post. Something to really set it off on a good note. Maybe inspirational to myself or something. Well...I couldn't think of anything at the time. So I just left it blank and postless. Well a day or two later I got an email...they thought I set this up to be a spam blog. So they shut it down for a couple of days to check it out. It finally got unlocked tonight.

Yeah. I'm off to a great start.