Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Matoor

I have discovered one of my biggest pet peeves. When people pronounce mature as matoor. Or however you would write it phonetically. You know what I'm talking about? Yeah. That way. Before I just thought it was funny. But no. It's not. I was in my LDS marriage and family class and my teacher apparently pronounces it that way. And we were talking about, well, marriage (wow the first time we actually get to the subject. what an anticlimactic sentence) and emotional maturity. Oh man I was practically grinding my teeth. It was almost painful to hear. It still hurts my ears right now just thinking about it. Ew. Anyway. Just...don't. Say it that way. Ever. Please. For the sake of my sanity. Gall.

I've gotta go eat something.

1 comments:

carleen marie said...

hahaha I hear ya : ) I also hate it when people pronounce harassment as 'hair-is-ment', or puberty as 'pooh-bur-tee'. Gotta love the english language and all the idiots who screw it up.