Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Everybody look what's going down

Well I went to the OneRepublic concert last night. And I really enjoyed myself. I got picked up at 4:30 which seemed really early but it wasn't too bad. We went to pick up a friend at Target and I buckled...I saw season one of Arrested Development for 15 bucks and had to pick it up. Got lost in Seattle, the whole deal. Then we finally got there about 6:15 or so. It was at a theatre called the Paramount. Now, this was the first time I have ever been to a concert where there have been seats. And that was a definite drawback. But it was actually alright. Not too bad of a setup at all. We head over, there's a small merch table where my friend bought a 20 dollar shirt. Other people were buying shirts as well...but they did the unthinkable. They bought the shirt then put it on. So not scene. I also noticed that these were ver un-concert like people. That was my first impression. These people do not frequent the rock venues. They're wearing khaki. Flip flops. They're old asian women. Preppy guys and girls. It was a really kind of awkward little bit where I was just looking around...these people would die at a Reggie and the Full Effect concert. Anyway. Doors open, in we go.

Now we're seated on the ground level, but a fair ways back. Row EE. Not terrible, I could see the stage very well, but it wasn't the best. The theatre is pretty empty until about 6:55 when people started coming in. And they kept coming in late. Now that's awesome at a rock club. But when there are seats, you gotta be there on time man. Not only do you piss off the people in your row because they have to stand up to let you in, but everyone behind gets to watch you as well. Awesome. Anyway. A little more to set the stage. We're in Seattle. Now SLC has a good reputation for putting on great, energetic shows. Seattle is kind of the opposite. We're all indie here and nobody really moves during a lot of concerts. Just kind of the checkin the band out, nodding my head kind of stuff. It's also so much worse in a theatre. And when the crowd members aren't frequent fliers in the concert world. So I feel kind of sorry for the bands when they tried to get us all riled up. Dissappointing for them.

The Hush Sound opened first and it was the first time I've ever seen them. They were awesome. They sounded just as good as they do on their albums. They played songs off of their new album as well as Like Vines. And it was just a good show overall. And the girl who sings and plays piano is hot and that never hurts haha. But anyway. They put on a very polished show. I was very impressed and recommend them. It must be so much better in a venue.

Next was The Spill Canvas. Great band. They had a little bit of trouble...I think. Maybe he just sang too softly for the mic to pick up sometimes. But they were energetic and engaging. And even busted out into a bit of Carry On My Wayward Son. Good times...the only thing that was a little sketchy is when the guy said "I'm not trying to be immature here..." and then said that the song was a great song to have sex to. Now, is that tacky? To recommend your own song? Not sure. Kind of a grey area. But it was pretty funny.

Then there was another intermission...and unlike the others, this did not last for 15 minutes. The sound guys spent about ten minutes setting up lamps and a piano and then the stage was empty. The setup lasted for a whopping 45 minutes...with an empty stage for 35 of them. Kind of sad. I'm not sure what they were doing, but oh well I guess. And then the show started. Now, I have no idea what OneRepublic sounds like in the studio. I've only heard two songs, and only once or twice. But I was very impressed. The singer's voice reminded me of Justin Timberlake mixed with Jason Mraz (which is a good thing) and the music was a cross of The Fray and Matchbox 20. I liked it. Not enough to go out and buy the album. But I really enjoyed it. Highlights? A freaking spanish guitar solo for two or three minutes. It was seriously some of the best I've ever heard, that guy's got skillz. They covered Crazy by Gnarls Barkley, some Bette Midler song, and did an awesome job covering For What It's Worth by Buffalo Springfield. Great song. Anyway, it was a very big sound and extremely musical and talented. I highly enjoyed the show. I guess the only gripe I have is that they're a "singles" band. I guarantee you that at least 75% of the people there had no idea who they were, they just knew the two singles. And I had another problem. The girl sitting two seats down from me and her friend were incredibly annoying. Screamed the whole set of OneRepublic. And I'm not talking high pitched girl squeals. I'm talking throaty yells. I hope they got hit by a bus yesterday. The world would be a better place.

And we didn't get shanked in Seattle.

Well we got home late last night and I had to wake up at 4:45 this morning to get to work. I'm exhausted. But it was so worth it.

Now I don't expect that this thrilled you. I just wanted to write down my thoughts of the evening. And since when am I writing this for you anyway? Jerks...

just joking brah.

2 comments:

Aleece said...

sounds like fun...except i'm not sure i could do a concert in an auditorium like that...odd

ChAndrew said...

The Hush Sound is amazing in a venue. I saw them at Saltair. And I think little old Asian ladies at the show is the best part. i wish it hadn't had seats because then they could get in the pit and go all old lady kung fu. And recommending your own song for sex? i don't think it's tacky, those old ladies might not know what works