Monday, July 20, 2009

Movies

So this is why I hate Hollywood.






Sigh. When will they make movies that I don't want to spend my money on? The answer is never of course. The Sherlock Holmes trailer was amazing...Even if the Harry Potter movie wasn't good at all I would still be glad I went just to see that. If you clicked that link to watch it...go to the second movie down. The one after where he's standing there ripped with no shirt on. It has a much better ending. Anyway. I could go all geek on you and talk about the new Avengers movie that is coming out in 2012 after they make Iron Man 2 and Thor and Captain America (by the way Captain America's shield is totally in Tony Stark's lab in Iron Man) but I'll spare you all the details.
Instead I'll talk to you about Harry Potter, which I went to see a couple days ago. And the verdict? 5 out of 5...until the end. The movie was absolutely brilliant and had a much different feel to it. The other ones were more fantastical and dreamy and stuff with the random magic they do and all. That may not make sense but it does to me haha. But this one was much more down to earth and serious, which makes sense given the content. It also had the best storyline of any of the movies. The other movies I could make out what was going on because I had read the books, but this movie was done well enough that anyone can watch and find a full, coherant plot that spans what happens in the book. Of course there are small ways they deviate, but that is forgiveable until the end. You may have caught on that I don't like the ending. Much at all. I drop the ending to a 2 1/2 of 5 and I will tell you why. I assume that the people who care about the movie who read this are the people who have read the books and hold the inverse true as well. So if you're a person who hasn't read the book and is excited for the movie then skip what I say about the ending. Deal? Deal.
So my biggest problem with the end is how anticlimactic it is. In the book it built to this huge explosion of happenings at the end, and the movie just kind of burned itself out. The only battle in the entire movie was in the bathroom when Harry just totally *insert word choice of owned* Malfoy. Which is interesting because as I remember it in the book it was just a singular spell by Harry, not a battle that decimates a bathroom. But at the end there was no battle with Death Eaters. I was also irked at how much they focused on Snape's good side. In the books you hate him but know that he is good...until the end of the sixth book. Then I remember arguing with people about how I was sure he was still good and half the people thought he really had been a traitor the whole time. In the movie there is no doubt. You know he is still good. Sure you recognize that Harry is very upset at him, but you still know that he is good based on some actions that don't follow exactly in harmony with what I read. Another problem? Dumbledore's death. In the book it was a disaster! Everything was changed, everything was wrong, the future was then uncertain and you didn't know what would happen. Again in the show it was just kind of oh, that sucks. Man that's sad. He's dead. Oh well, Harry will take care of things. So I think what it really comes down to is that the director really tried to soften the blow of a very dark and uncertain ending into one that still is full of hope. An ending with no mention of killing Snape or the uncertain future of Hogwarts or anything. And I guess that bothered me. Still! Amazing movie and I highly highly recommend.
Anyway. That's my breakdown of it. I hope everyone is having a great week! I leave for Idaho tomorrow for Becky's graduation. Get back on Saturday. Then have less than a week of getting things finalized and all and the wedding on Friday! It's so close. Have a great day everyone. Love you all!
Albums that are getting lots of plays in my library:
Fall Out Boy - Folie a Deux (yes I know what it means)
Motion City Soundtrack - Commit This To Memory
Hellogoodbye - Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs!

1 comments:

Becky said...

we'll save up and go!