Thursday, January 29, 2009

The future

So I just finished watching some very scientific documents of the world and reality and everything. So now I can predict the future. Apparently, we're going to make some AI. And we're going to have a little disagreement...but what happens? We'll be in the future all united by peace. But we will have a problem sitting down and talking with these robots. And we're going to start a war and nuke the sky so they have no way to function. So we will be taken over by machines that are much smarter and stronger than us and turned into their energy source. They'll put us in some program that makes us think that we're living normal lives...but what happens then? It seems that the entire existence of these machines will be harvesting humans and making sure they don't wake up. That's it. They'll hang around with huge guns and wait for us to come to so they can shoot us. We're going to be turned into a power source...for that kind of life.

Sounds pretty retarded for such an intelligent race.

And if I had the choice I would definitely take the red pill, but only to have super cool kung fu action.

Long days long nights

What's up everyone! So I don't have a purpose for writing this. Which would normally mean I wouldn't write something. But it's been a while. And I feel the need to write something so you get the lucky opportunity to hear from me. So here's what's on my mind lately:

-I bought some doc martins before school and I love them. The only problem is that my right shoe rubs my heel and gave me a blister one time. It's only my right one. I'm pretty sure it's broken in by now. Maybe I just don't lace it up right.
-We got a new TV. We now have three in our apartment. We had a broken 13 incher...and then I brought mine which is bigger and a flat screen. Which I loved. And now we have an even bigger one...but it's not a flat screen. It's sweet though. So now you need to understand. We've been through three tv's...and none of them have had a remote. Sweet. At least the DVD player does. So I can go through the seasons of Arrested Development without getting up.
-My shoes are slowly migrating from my closet to the front room. At this very moment I have three different pairs of shoes plus my flip flops in the corner by the couch. Flip flops? Yup. Shut up.
-I used to think that I hated to talk on the phone. Guess I'm wrong. It just depends on who I'm talking to. Becky and I had a two hour conversation yesterday and I loved every minute of it. Except for when she made me play guitar. Slightly weird. But alright.
-For some reason BYU thinks I'm on their health care plan. Which means they've locked my account because I haven't paid them 204 dollars for something I don't need. Sigh. I'm going to need to stop by on my way home tomorrow and tell them off.
-I have too much music. I have so many CDs that I haven't listened to...and I'm not getting around to them. I'm busy making mixes and playlists for Becky. And listening to them on repeat to check quality. Yeah guys I put a lot of work into those things. I can't say I'm the best at it but if you're ever looking for one just let me know. Sadly, makeout/romantic mixes might be my specialty. Just because I love those songs.
-I need to exercise more (read: I need to start). If anyone wants to start up let me know I need a buddy. And I guess that's aimed at Chandrew because nobody else who reads this is in Provo.
-I've fallen into a rut with my poetry. They're bland, lack any symbolism or descriptiveness, and just kind of bore me. I need to fix that but don't know how. I should start reading more maybe.
-I'm cliche

Well there's just a schmorgasboard (or however you spell it) of my random thoughts. Hope you all are doing well. You guys are awesome! Keep a smile on your face.

Love.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Cloud 0

Just to warn you, this might reveal me to be somewhat soft. If you don't want to read it, I'm not worried.

Well I just have to say that this has been the best weekend that I can remember. Everything has worked together so perfectly. You see, I have met a girl. And not just any girl. Becky. She is the most amazing girl ever. I could go on about how great she is but you don't want to hear it. Anyway. She came down to visit this weekend. How come all the best girls always live in Idaho? Lame. Well she came down and we had a great weekend. Went to PF Changs, walked, went to the movies, cuddled on the couch, watched some other movies, hung out at Borders...just didn't do much. But we did it together. And it was so great. She is definitely someone I won't get sick of for a long time. And she's made me happier than I've been in a very long time. So just so you all know...I've now kissed a girl since I've been home from my mission. And it was great. So have a great week everyone. I know I will.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Caring is creepy

So I was talking with Carly on a night that I was feeling particularly argumentative and she asked me what I cared about and I had a list of three things. She countered that she could fill books with what she cared about. And I realized that I was probably just being obstinate or whatever and so I'm writing this list. It might be all-inclusive or might not depends. But this is a list of things I care about. Here goes:

-following the gospel
-not looking like an idiot
-my family
-my friends
-making other people happy
-my reputation. This is hard to explain. I don't care what other people think of me. But I do care if they think I'm not living up to what I should be. Like, on my mission, I didn't care at all who liked me and who didn't, but I did care if people thought I was a bad missionary. Get it?
-keeping my stomach happy
-collecting shoes
-my hair
-my presentation (how I look, etc)
-my grades
-having a cell phone on me whenever possible
-music
-getting better at playing guitar
-being worthy for my future wife
-having fun

And I'm kind of running out of things to say now. Sad. So I really don't care about much. Hm. Maybe I'll be able to think of more later. I guess I'm just not in the right mood to care now...I'm too busy having some fun I haven't had in a long time. Have a good one all.

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Loveliness

So I'm sitting here on a Sunday evening on my couch and guess what? I'm cuddling. Heck yes. My life recently took a huge turn for the worse when I was guided by our Father above to dump a girl who I really thought was going to work. And the ensuing next few days were absolutely depressing but life of course goes on. And you know what? It really does. And I'm here as a testament that it does. And I'm pleased with that. I'm picking up and moving on. And Carly is here for the weekend and I am having the best weekend I've had for a long time. She is such an amazing person. Why do girls always make the best friends? Of course it doesn't hurt that they have cuddleability. That is a new awesome word. Haha. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I'm smiling tonight. Legitimately. It's been a while since I've done that. I'm still alive and I'm moving on. And right now, I wish this evening would go on forever. Take care all.

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Life Sucks

Finch
Post Script

I wish it didn't hurt, hurt like this
To say these things to you.
I'll sacrifice one moment for one truth.

If we get through tomorrow then we'll be fine.
We'll wait for forever and see how close we get.

It's just another day, one more chance
To get this right.
I'll sacrifice forever please just for tonight.

If we get through tomorrow then we'll be fine.
We'll wait for forever and see how close we get.

The worst is over for now.
Take a breath now let it out.

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Legit

So! News from the home front. I'm now official. Let me explain. So I thought that my major was Psychology. I was pretty sure I declared that when I got in college. But apparently I didn't. This was made apparent when I went to my psych 220 class and my teacher said that none of us were psych majors. So, being confused, I checked online and sure enough I'm an open major. Or...I was. I'm now official! I have a major. I went with Chandrew to the SWKT and declared our majors. We're both psych majors now. So I feel totally legit. Sweet.

I hope you're all doing excellent. And have a great day!

Friday, January 9, 2009

Playlist 1

Here's the playlist I've been listening to a lot lately. If you're having a bad day, give it a spin. It works wonders.

1. Ace Enders - I Told You So
2. All-American Rejects - Straitjacket Feeling
3. Brand New - The Boy Who Blocked His Own Shot
4. The Bravery - The Ocean
5. Bright Eyes - Poison Oak
6. Daphne Loves Derby - Pollen And Salt
7. Dashboard Confessional - This Bitter Pill
8. The Early November - Figure It Out
9. Fall Out Boy - I've Got A Dark Alley And A Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth
10. Fastball - Out Of My Head
11. Fountains Of Wayne - All Kinds Of Time
12. The Hush Sound - Out Through The Curtain
13. Jack's Mannequin - Kill The Messenger
14. Matchbox Twenty - Unwell
15. Motion City Soundtrack - Hold Me Down
16. My Chemical Romance - I Don't Love You
17. Relient K - Let It All Out
18. The Rocket Summer - Treasures
19. Something Corporate - Bad Day
20. Sugarcult - The Investigation
21. Taking Back Sunday - Your Own Disaster
22. Tokyo Rose - Meghan Again
23. The Used - Yesterday's Feelings
24. Yellowcard - City Of Devil's
25. Ben Folds - Fred Jones pt. 2
26. Meg & Dia - Monster (acoustic)

Burn and...is enjoy the right word to put here? I dunno. Whatever it is, do that. haha. Have a good one everyone.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

?

So...what happens when you base your future around a decision that you later find to be wrong? What do you do? How exactly does one regroup? Normal life goes on no matter what you might be doing or feeling. So...what now?

If you find out tell me. I'm trying to solve the equation.

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Passing me by

"Out Through The Curtain"
The Hush Sound

Like the light was all I had
I struck the book with my last match
The candle burned so soft and slow
I felt the warmth and felt its glow

Salt tasting tears
They roll off of my lips
One for each day I'm inside this house, it's a trap
One I can't quite escape so pretend it's the place that I love

Won't let it pass me by again
Won't let it pass me by again

The grass was clipped
The summer sun
Was beating down on my front yard
All the boys and girls would laugh
I'd watch them through the curtain's crack

Place all your bets and watch me lose
The life that I got but never used
Dream every night that one will come true
But only bad ones ever do

Won't let it pass me by again
Won't let it pass me by again

My heart beats way too fast
To let regret sit in my lap

Won't let it pass me by again
Won't let it pass me by again

Friday, January 2, 2009

Beginnings

So it's the new year. Welcome to your life now. I figured I'd drop by and say how I'm doing.

Well today was actually one of the best days I can remember. Amazing. And you know what I did? Packed. Weird. Carly came over and just hung out in my room while I packed and it was a very nice evening. Then we watched Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure and I love that movie. It's sad because I might never hang out with her again in this same setting because of school, significant others, etc. You only meet a twin once or twice. Best of luck to her and if she doesn't keep in touch then I will personally drive to her apartment and throw spaghetti in her bed. Gross.

Well I'm leaving town tomorrow. Actually I'm supposed to be awake in an hour and a half to pack the car and it's leaving at 5:00. Good thing I'm not driving and can just sleep in the back. But here's to a new chapter in life.

Sorry nothing interesting. I'm just thinking out loud. Or on paper. Or a keyboard. I've gotten an average of four hours of sleep for two or three days. I'm excused from rational thought.

God bless you all.