Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Blog

Whelp! We started a married blog. You know, the thing that all the cool married people are doing. haha. It's jamesonandbecky.blogspot.com

go ahead and check it out!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Whoo!

"Love is free, love me, say hell yes!"

I'm getting married in less than 12 hours! Whoo! Now I'm off to bed.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Slowly?

So it's coming up. The wedding. In FOUR days! How crazy is that? It's still very surreal to me because it's always been way in the future and now it's like you know, four days ago was nothing...and in four days I will no longer be single. It's a very weird thought. Obviously it's a great thought, but yeah. Anyway. This week is crazy. I'm currently sitting in a bed that is completely a mess. We've been packing up our lives the past day or two and my bed is a complete disaster. We organized everything and now it's just putting them in boxes. And it's going to be a fun move haha. There is a ton of stuff to get done this week and it kind of makes my head reel to think about all that needs to be completed. So it's just got to be a one day at a time kind of thing. I think Becky has more to do than I do...more family and friends coming into town and all that stuff. All the out of town family on my end is my grandma and aunt and they're already here. Anyway. Becky graduated! She is now a college graduate and it was great to be there and see her stand on her chair so we could see her haha. Sorry this is so random and kind of like a run on sentence/paragraph thing, but that's pretty much how my thoughts are working. My thoughts are more like a thousand little twitter status updates in a row but not at the same time. If I survive this week with my sanity intact I'm going to freaking need a week on a beach to ourselves. Good thing we got one I guess! haha. Well I hope everyone is having a great week and I'll actually see most of you soon!

Monday, July 20, 2009

Movies

So this is why I hate Hollywood.






Sigh. When will they make movies that I don't want to spend my money on? The answer is never of course. The Sherlock Holmes trailer was amazing...Even if the Harry Potter movie wasn't good at all I would still be glad I went just to see that. If you clicked that link to watch it...go to the second movie down. The one after where he's standing there ripped with no shirt on. It has a much better ending. Anyway. I could go all geek on you and talk about the new Avengers movie that is coming out in 2012 after they make Iron Man 2 and Thor and Captain America (by the way Captain America's shield is totally in Tony Stark's lab in Iron Man) but I'll spare you all the details.
Instead I'll talk to you about Harry Potter, which I went to see a couple days ago. And the verdict? 5 out of 5...until the end. The movie was absolutely brilliant and had a much different feel to it. The other ones were more fantastical and dreamy and stuff with the random magic they do and all. That may not make sense but it does to me haha. But this one was much more down to earth and serious, which makes sense given the content. It also had the best storyline of any of the movies. The other movies I could make out what was going on because I had read the books, but this movie was done well enough that anyone can watch and find a full, coherant plot that spans what happens in the book. Of course there are small ways they deviate, but that is forgiveable until the end. You may have caught on that I don't like the ending. Much at all. I drop the ending to a 2 1/2 of 5 and I will tell you why. I assume that the people who care about the movie who read this are the people who have read the books and hold the inverse true as well. So if you're a person who hasn't read the book and is excited for the movie then skip what I say about the ending. Deal? Deal.
So my biggest problem with the end is how anticlimactic it is. In the book it built to this huge explosion of happenings at the end, and the movie just kind of burned itself out. The only battle in the entire movie was in the bathroom when Harry just totally *insert word choice of owned* Malfoy. Which is interesting because as I remember it in the book it was just a singular spell by Harry, not a battle that decimates a bathroom. But at the end there was no battle with Death Eaters. I was also irked at how much they focused on Snape's good side. In the books you hate him but know that he is good...until the end of the sixth book. Then I remember arguing with people about how I was sure he was still good and half the people thought he really had been a traitor the whole time. In the movie there is no doubt. You know he is still good. Sure you recognize that Harry is very upset at him, but you still know that he is good based on some actions that don't follow exactly in harmony with what I read. Another problem? Dumbledore's death. In the book it was a disaster! Everything was changed, everything was wrong, the future was then uncertain and you didn't know what would happen. Again in the show it was just kind of oh, that sucks. Man that's sad. He's dead. Oh well, Harry will take care of things. So I think what it really comes down to is that the director really tried to soften the blow of a very dark and uncertain ending into one that still is full of hope. An ending with no mention of killing Snape or the uncertain future of Hogwarts or anything. And I guess that bothered me. Still! Amazing movie and I highly highly recommend.
Anyway. That's my breakdown of it. I hope everyone is having a great week! I leave for Idaho tomorrow for Becky's graduation. Get back on Saturday. Then have less than a week of getting things finalized and all and the wedding on Friday! It's so close. Have a great day everyone. Love you all!
Albums that are getting lots of plays in my library:
Fall Out Boy - Folie a Deux (yes I know what it means)
Motion City Soundtrack - Commit This To Memory
Hellogoodbye - Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs!

Friday, July 17, 2009

What now?

So it's always a daunting task to post after having had something awesome happen in your life. It's easy to just babble about some everyday activity, but when, say, you go to California for a week it's always a little more intense. I'm never sure exactly what to say about it all. So we'll see if we can do this justice, eh? Sweet.

So I left last Thursday to head to California. Road trip! I made a playlist and all including, of course, the requisite track California by Phantom Planet (see: the OC theme song). It was a two day drive. Which made for a long trip and a fair bit of boredom haha. I brought along a book, game boy, ipod and stuff to write with. And we made it! Stopping somewhere along the way overnight we made it to Diamond Bar, California (about 20 miles out of LA and where they filmed Orange County) around four in the afternoon or so. And we then had our family reunion; spanning the weekend. It was pretty fun. Ate food, watched Field Of Dreams, and saw people I never knew existed haha. Good times. It was in the mid 90s the whole time I was there and that's a little change for a kid from little ol' Sammamish, where they give you warnings when it hits 80 degrees. It was fun though! I loved it.

Sunday was uneventful. Went to church and had a dinner with all the family again. Played some games, the whole nine. Nice and everything but not much to report. Monday we went to the beach! And I got burned haha. My face and random spots on my chest where I guess I sucked at putting on sunscreen. Ate at the Hat, which is an amazing sandwich place. Highly recommend. And Tuesday we went to Disneyland! Which is cooler than cool. I had a blast. I would put up pictures but I'm really too lazy to do all that now. But it was awesome. And it was actually not very crowded at all which is sweet. The longest we had to wait in line was 20 minutes for Space Mountain. How awesome is that? It had been far too long since I had been there. I love it every time. I don't really know what to say about Disneyland. I mean, it's awesome...so you can't really say any highlights. So I won't. It was fun.

Wednesday was a relaxation day. Just spent some time with family visiting. Until the evening that is. We went to this pirate dinner thing that was super sweet. It's almost like Medieval Times but pirate like instead. We went and had orderves and everything and they had this little pre-show thing. And it set up the story and all and then we all went in the main place and sat down. And it was this big ampitheatre almost with a pirate ship deck in the middle with masts and ropes and everything. And they put on this whole interactive show while we ate dinner with big booms, sweet aerial acrobatics and swordfights and everything. The pirates were all ripped with sweet six packs and all and it pretty much made me jealous. But it was awesome.

Yesterday we drove home. All. the. way. home. Which turned out to be a 19 1/2 hour drive. In one go. We got back last night at like 4:30 and I'm pretty tired because I haven't slept much. I'm in for a nap today. Anyway.

That was the trip! It was awesome and everything but it's good to be back. I hope all of you had a great week yourselves! I'm going to go relax and maybe nap and maybe my parents will take me to see Harry Potter. Have a great day everyone!

California, rest in peace.

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Seriously folks

When life gives you lemons...

you will make the crappiest lemonade known to man unless it gives you a buttload of sugar as as well.

Just saying.

ps California is sweet and I've gotten burned already

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

100

Headed to California tomorrow morning! I may write sometime in the middle. I'll be gone for a week and a halfish. Hope you're all going to be doing alright! Enjoy your time and I'll see you on the other side!

PS Happy post 100 for me :)