Now. I hate running. I'm just going to get that out of the way off the bat. I am not an exercise fan. Everyone says it feels good and all that kind of stuff. No it doesn't it just makes you tired. Endorphins are a myth perpetuated by exercise science people who want to stay in business. I should know, I am the authority on these things. But Becky has somehow suckered me into making exercise part of my daily routine and so I might as well get some sort of enjoyment out of it, right?
So I used to watch TV while I ran. We had our satellite hooked up and I'd watch NCIS or Fringe or something in the mornings while I lifted and ran on our elliptical. That was pretty cool I enjoy watching a good show. But then the unthinkable happened...what my parents had always talked about happening occured: we got rid of our satellite and hooked up internet TV to our screen. And for some reason that doesn't get put out on the TV in the exercise room. So I started to mess around with music for when I ran so I'd have a better stride and at least some entertainment. How my running thing works is I push this button on the elliptical and it does four minutes of low resistance, four of high, low, high, low, high, low, then five minutes of cooldown. 33 minutes in all. So I have officially put together the perfect playlist that almost matches my strides and changes and everything! Obviously not a perfect match for most of them but yeah. Here it is:
Jameson' "I'm glad nobody can hear this but me" exercise music:
1. Avril Lavigne - Girlfriend
2. Emotional Anarchist - MxPx
3. JET - Rollover DJ
4. The Ramones - My Brain Is Hanging Upside Down
5. OK Go - Here It Goes Again
6. Queen - Don't Stop Me Now
7. Over It - Intro
8. Kid Sister - Control (LA Riots Remix)
9. Muse - Muscle Museum
10. Enya - May It Be
I had to put some Enya on the end otherwise my cooldown just turned into more running at normal speed time haha. Put on music that makes you fall asleep and my stride will invariably slow down. I guess Sigur Ros or Coldplay would have worked just as well. Anyway. There it is! Muscle Museum is my favorite one to run to because that song is perfectly timed with me. It's beautiful. Oh and when I lift every other day I throw on these songs at the beginning (the last two actually go on at the end because that's when I do my last set):
Kanye West - Jesus Walks
Tiger Army - Ghosts Of Memory
Led Zeppelin - Immigrant Song
Billy Talent - Red Flag
Hoobastank - Born To Lead
Linkin Park & Jay-Z - Izzo/In The End
So there we go. Of course I finish all of this just in time to think that maybe I should add more time on to my running. What's new?
Becky and I have started reading scriptures and praying together on the phone at night. That sounds dumb when I write it out but it really is an awesome experience. A perfect way to end the day.
I hope you're all having a good sabbath now that you've read all about my eclectic running music. I'm listening to acoustic guitar hymns. Not this. Don't you worry.
Though later on I may or may not be listening to Bright Eyes.
Sunday, May 31, 2009
Running
Posted by Jameson at 7:07 AM 2 comments
Tuesday, May 26, 2009
Paradise Found
Well I've been putting this off for a few hours because I don't know honestly how to start. Becky has already written about the weekend we had and has put it in the most perfect words that I feel anything I'll write will be inadequate. But I have to consolidate thoughts onto some medium and this is it. If you're not into the sugar I'm going to write then turn away. It may be too sappy for you haha. Oh well.
So it started off by me going to pick her up from the airport on Friday. After some nice traffic and other setbacks I picked her up a half hour late or so haha. And seeing her was enough to make my weekend beautiful but that's just the least of it. After making some dinner we left to shop and look at stars and spent the evening enjoying each other's company and talking through the night.
We spent the next day being SUPER productive and managing to have a great time as well. I played some Gears of War while she was getting her nails done and we went to a tasting of our reception food. And it was amazing. I had three slices of the prime rib haha. And I tried and failed to help Becky out with the decisions that everyone asked her to make. We all know that the bride's opinion is the one that matters of course but after so many your head does want to explode. I forgot what we did after that. I think just went and gathered some stuff together and talked to my family for a bit. Then we went and took our pictures! And it was surprisingly an amazing time. I thought that it was going to be a lot of just standing there with a fake smile while someone told me what to do. But Bonnie was pretty good about just following us around with a camera and telling us when we looked ugly ;) Thank you so much by the way! They turned out amazing. Most of our pictures were taken while we weren't paying attention and were just talking and laughing on the beach. For some reason even after an hour or two I was still surprised that they were taking pictures when I wasn't paying attention haha. Of course I do get distracted easily. Moreso when my beautiful fiancee is there. They were great. Then I was privelaged to eat at this place called Anthony's which was incredible. And this chocolate cake dessert was orgasmic. Wow. Good good stuff.
Sunday was spent in church a lot. Went to both wards and we saw people who still hadn't put two and two together haha. It was a nice time. Read scriptures, listened to speakers, tried and failed to take a nap. You know, the usual church routine haha. Afterwards we went and found this cool nature walk haha. Little kid pictures on stones that have info about wetlands and animals. It was a beautiful day and a nice little walk. Ate dinner at my house, watched a movie, the usual.
Monday was so fun! I didn't know what to expect but we left and registered at Target and Crate and Barrel and had a lot of fun with that scanner haha. At first it was slightly weird walking around, not sure what to get and all. But later on we just started having fun. We found the perfect couch at Crate and Barrel! We scanned it for fun. Are we going to get it? Heck no. But it's a nice dream. We shopped around a bit more and then headed to a barbecue at my house with both families and visited and ate and left and played cards with her family. I even got a cute nickname. Good times.
She left this morning. I drove her to the airport and we, uh, chatted for a while. She's now back in Idaho and I'm still here, waiting to see her again. And things couldn't be better. Obviously a few things would be great to change, but everything is working out how it should and it's for the best. Best memory? Driving her home one evening and feeling just this very different feeling. We both felt it. And it was like the cord that held us together was changed to a chain. It was very sudden and almost electrifying but very calm at the same time. One of the most amazing feelings I have ever had and will remember it forever. It's impossible to explain and I don't think it's something that needs to be said. But needless to say I won't be the same. I love you Rebecca Ann. Counting the days.
We're in love, sweet love
We're in love, sweet love
We built our life from nothing
We don't have much room or money
But we've got love
We can only grow much better
I'm so glad we're here together
And on our own. In love.
Posted by Jameson at 9:02 PM 4 comments
Friday, May 22, 2009
On your mark...
So! I'm sitting here in bed and thinking about the day and I am unbelievably excited. You see, today is the day that Becky comes in town and I get to see and hold and kiss my fiancee. So awesome. The problem I guess of this moment is that it's Audioslave's turn on my iTunes. I don't know how many of you listen to Audioslave. Amazing band, great sound, I love it. But it is not music that you listen to on bright sunny mornings. Grunge is music you listen to on other days. That aren't quite as happy and exciting haha. But it's alright I am enjoying it.
I get to mow the lawn today. I'll hopefully start in a little over an hour...get an early start so I can be done by 11 or so and spend a bit of time with Michael. I won't see that kid for a while. He may not be able to do anything which is slightly depressing though. I'll live I suppose.
I don't have anything exciting to write about. At all. The only thing that's happened is that I've been digging post holes in my backyard. And apparently it's an old glacial depository blah blah or something so there are freaking dinosaur eggs or something in the ground. These rocks are over half the size of my head. Not enjoyable. I've been playing some xbox in my spare time. Running in the mornings. And that has been my entire life.
I have noticed something though. I listen to music constantly throughout the day because I'm working and everything. And there's a little effect that I've realized that I don't care much for too much. I don't exactly know what it's called. A friend of mine who had a home studio and recorded music called it paning, but upon further detective work it seems there is no such word. Anyway. This effect is when they put the sounds on one side or the other to certain degrees. That probably didn't make sense. Have you ever listened to music where like one guitar part or the vocals or something only comes out of one headphone? And you check to make sure they're plugged in and they really are and you figure out that for some reason that's what the artist or producer wanted to do? Yeah that's it. I don't mind it to some degree. Most bands or artists do it. But there are extremes. And I don't like those extremes. For example, I'm going to mention (Windy look away) the Beatles. Now, AMAZING band obviously. Founders of rock or whatever. I love them. But they are not infallable. They are notorious for using this effect to overkill during some of their albums. Listen to Here Comes The Sun or Yellow Submarine with headphones. Take the right one out. Where did the singing go? It's gone! Vocals are the one thing that I need to come through both ears right down the middle. Guitars are forgivable if one is on one side and the other on the opposite. But vocals coming out of just one ear? Ew. It drives me crazy. Maybe I'm just too picky I guess. Oh well it's not like it's hurting anyone but me.
/rant
After the end of this Audioslave CD and Avril Lavigne's Girlfriend I'm out of the A's! I'm excited. And if any of you are laughing about that song I will stab you to death. I used to put that on with Tiny and listen to it every morning along with the Ting Tings, which are the most amazing band ever. Kind of. They're fun though haha. And Tiny will say she's attractive. But not me because I'm engaged and Becky is the most beautiful girl ever. That last part wasn't a joke by the way she is way awesome looking. Anyway. Keep it real guys. I'm going to have a great weekend so you better too. Smile and be happy! The sun is out and that is cause for celebration in itself.
Posted by Jameson at 7:35 AM 2 comments
Wednesday, May 20, 2009
Accents
Every time I sing along to Oasis I have to say "Champagne Supahnover" just like he does. It's a curse.
Posted by Jameson at 11:44 AM 0 comments
Tuesday, May 19, 2009
blech
I laid down for a short nap at 7:45 this evening. Woke up a bit after 9. Dang. My mouth tastes terrible and my stomach is very upset as well. Ew. Don't do this people. Learn from my mistake.
I listened to 57 Ataris songs today. Good good times.
Posted by Jameson at 10:21 PM 2 comments
Saturday, May 16, 2009
Project
Well, I have a new project. I need something to do with music and I was excused from my last one. So I've decided that I'm going to listen to all of my music in alphabetical order. Wow. I don't know how big that is for some people...I have almost 13 straight days worth of music on my computer. Which isn't all my music but it's all I'm going to do. Anyway. It's going fairly well right now...I'm still in the A's. So far I've listened to:
AFI
Aaron Edson
The Academy Is...
Acceptance
Ace Enders And A Million Different People
Addison Park
Alien Ant Farm
Alkaline Trio
The All-American Rejects
Amber Pacific
Anberlin
Angels and Airwaves
The Aquabats
Aqualung
I still have nine whole CD's worth of music until I'm out of the A's. Haha this is awesome. It was a little rough getting to the Aquabats because I wasn't in a funny mood. But whatever. Anyway this is a little pointless but I don't care.
My family is leaving for Utah for a wedding in five or six hours. I'll be home alone for five straight days. I would say party but there's nobody to party with so most of it will be playing Guitar Hero or Gears of War. We'll see how it goes. Have a good one everybody.
Posted by Jameson at 12:06 AM 1 comments
Thursday, May 14, 2009
For you it's been so long
So it's interesting. When I would write a post a day they could be stupid little things and i would be just fine with that. When I haven't written for almost a week I start thinking that I should make it good so I'll wait until I have some inspiration hit. A few days later I still got nothing. That's because my life is pretty boring haha. And know what? I'm alright with that. Obviously I wish a few things different, but I'm fairly content with the way things are going right now. Which is always a good thing.
I'm laying in bed an hour after I woke up. Laptops are awesome. I'm sitting here texting my fiancee and listening to some Rilo Kiley and JET. The latter has been one of the best CD purchases I've had for a long time. Amazing. It's like a modern version of the Beatles almost. I highly recommend.
It's raining like crazy this morning. And I'm actually pretty happy with that. I didn't want to go out to work in the garden because I only have like a half hour or an hour's worth of work to do. Why get all muddy for that? So I'm waiting until a bit more work pops up. Like mowing the lawn. I need to do that pretty badly. But I can't when the grass is wet. So hopefully it dries up pretty soon here.
I'm still out of a job. I've applied to everything. eeeeverything. ish. And I still got nothing. So I'm still praying and hoping an opportunity will pop up. We'll see if something does. Here's to hopes.
So what's new then? Zerr and I are playing Gears Of War now. It can get pretty intense. That's legit game footage by the way. Anyway. Scary. Freaky. Fun. It's like Resident Evil and Halo had a baby that ate them. Every time we play this game we get scared out of our wits. Those things are freaky. But yeah good times anyway. Not that anyone that reads this cares about my video games haha.
You can disregard the playlist on the right. It may be what we're using for the reception. I put it up so Becky could give me a review. She hasn't yet. Probably means it isn't any good. We'll see though. I am getting married! This is so weird and cool and exciting. Becky has a little counter dealy on her blog. 78 days. Wow. Eight weeks and I'll be married. It's the most awesome and scary thought in the world. I'm way excited though. And Windy, you don't want Tommy to set you up with anyone. Those guys he hangs out with are pretty weird.
Well I'm going to get off and stop wasting your time. I need to go down and run anyway. I get to help a lady in my ward with some photoshop stuff at 9:30 today. Hopefully I remember how to do it all...I haven't messed around with that program since I was a senior. I was pretty good though. Anyway. Have a great week everyone!
Posted by Jameson at 6:47 AM 2 comments
Tuesday, May 5, 2009
Life, the universe, and everything
So! Life is going on slowly but surely. And I'm kind of in this weird limbo state. I haven't found a job yet...still applying at everywhere that doesn't seem like they're hiring. So I'm not sure what I'm going to do other than pray and hope. And I've been doing plenty of both. So here's to me earning a living so I can support my wife.
It's raining. Sigh. It was so pretty last week! It was awesome. I don't mind the rain at all. I love it actually. I've just been in a sunny mood lately and it hasn't been sunny. Lame? I thought so too. Why doesn't everything revolve around me? Something I'll have to look into later. This needs to get fixed.
My mom has been in South Carolina for a week. I've been the designated mother. You know, like cooking dinner for us and all. Becky is excited because this means that I can at least decently follow a recipe. Michael isn't because I have to leave at 4:30 or so when I'm over with him haha. She comes home tomorrow evening though so my family will finally get real food on Thursday. I'm sure they're curbing their enthusiasm for my sake.
Two and a half weeks! Until Becky comes. I'm worried that if I do get a job I may have to work on the 23...that's the day we get our engagement photos taken. And eating lunch at the country club. I'm kind of required. We'll see. I'm just excited I get to see her again.
Well...I don't know what else to say I'm just dropping an update on my life. I haven't had much material to write about lately...you'd think that me being home alone a ton would spark some interesting thought processes in my head. Apparently not. Sorry. But to end, I'll leave a list of ten things that make me terribly, unfailingly happy. I'm trying to be more positive. So let's see if I can make something up!
ps this is in no order
1. Holding Becky in my arms (cuddling, hugging, etc)
2. Acoustic guitars
3. The smell of new books
4. The feeling of the inside of a new sweatshirt
5. Holding hands
6. A slight breeze in the park or beach on a warm day
7. Watching a thunderstorm from a covered porch
8. The words "I love you"
9. Singing. Loud, soft, to sleep, whatever. But I get embarrassed singing for people.
10. Grass in my toes
Simple things. That's what life is really all about. Too many people go looking for the next sensation to blow them away and make them feel alive. Too often they're forgetting that the things that make us feel alive are the everyday, the mundane. These are the moments that define our experience. Big things are nice and fun and adventurous sure, but the simple and ordinary are really what we should focus on. All of these things are made for our use and enjoyment (see D&C. Section 88 or something. Actually probably more like 59. Just use the index). How can you not feel alive while you're leaning into the wind on a chilly morning? What more do you need than the feeling of rain on your face as you lay on the asphalt? The sun on your back. This is what we need to focus on. The more we focus on the simple things the better our lives will become. I'm a firm believer of this. Anyway. Have a great day everyone. You're awesome. Without you this life would be so much harder.
Posted by Jameson at 8:02 PM 3 comments
